Write About What You’re Thinking

I often teach my students to write about what they’re thinking instead of wasting time thinking about what to write. I have more than a few rough drafts that I could have posted this week but I think it’s best to shoot from the hip and see what manifests.

As I write this, I am home midday, midweek due to a a pulled muscle in my lower back. Sitting hurts, laying down is awkward, walking is slow and uncomfortable, but all is not lost. Moments like this remind me of what’s important. Health? Yes. Mobility? Yes. But the first thing that comes to mind is how it took for me to reach for a shirt hanging on the shower curtain rod (hence, pulling the aforementioned lower back muscle) to sit me down so that I could reflect on life and the important things.

Writing is important to me. It, and the grace of God, are the reasons why I do not currently reside in a state penitentiary. Writing is a detoxification process for excessive critical thinkers; a purging of sorts. There are times when I know that I should write, but I think about writing instead and nothing gets resolved. When I write, somewhere between the thoughts pouring from my fingertips and the words that mingle on the page, a resolution seeps through, bursting forth with an aroma of genius that I refuse to take credit for. I simply reply, “Thank You Lord.” It is in that moment; that space in time that I realize that writing is a kinesthetic prayer.  Writing is a conversation between God and I. I come bearing it all on the page and in the midst of the surrender, He speaks.

But don’t take my word for it. Try it out and let me know what happens. Prepare for a miracle.

P.S. I didn’t know where this was headed. He did it AGAIN! Thank You Lord!

One comment

  1. urbanpolitics101 · February 18, 2015

    as a person with years of writers block or just suffering from a severe case of procrastination…i most definitely need to read that….i will use it to pick up my pen today…and like you mobility is limited due to recent hospital visit…but i’m still blessed with the skill to scribble!!!!! thanks cuzzin….urbanpolitics101

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

