On Fatherhood

I talk about what I know. If I don’t know, I research it. I participate in conversations about it to consider multiple perspectives. As Father’s Day 2015 comes to a close, I’d like to share the little that I know.

1. A father is of the male gender.

2. I am not a father.

3. I did not grow up with a father in my home, nor my life, for the most part.

4. A woman must ALWAYS look at a potential mate as the potential father of her child(ren).

5. If, as a woman, you were not able to wish the father of your child(ren) a Happy Father’s Day, and he is still alive and well and you have access to his contact information, please remember that you two were once on one accord; and unless he took it, you CHOSE him.

6. It is unhealthy and ratchet to tell your child that Peter is his father and Charles is his daddy.

7. Fatherhood means the world to men who understand that children are a blessing.

8. If you are a single mother who gets nothing from the father of your child(ren)…request double for Mother’s Day or have a heart to heart with your children on April Fool’s Day about how all that glitters ain’t gold. Whatever you do, keep this day sacred for men who active in the lives of their children because they want to be and wouldn’t have it any other way.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

